Bukas. Magkakaalaman na.

The most celebrated collegiate rookie of our time.

It was one hot summer day in May and while I was on a break from a pick-up game at the Barangay White Plains covered court, I took advantage of my chance to talk some hoops with a Blue Eagle rookie.

Fresh from reading an article about Georgia Tech’s strange recruiting experience with Bobby Ray Parks Jr., I asked the Ateneo freshman how Parks Jr. was performing in the FIloil Flying V Tournament. “Magaling talaga. Mina-mama niya lang yung mga kalaban. Madali siyang maka-score dito sa Pilipinas kasi he’s got good size for a shooting guard (6’4”)”, he shares. I completely agree, I thought to myself. And while I was about to blurt out my input, he stopped me with his own, “Pero mas magaling parin si Kief.”, he adds, reading my mind like a book, knowing what I was going to ask next.

I was not surprised at all with what he said but what caught me off guard was the tone of his voice, sure and convinced. Considering Ray Parks Jr. was ranked #117 in the 2011 high school recruiting class in the States, his statement says a lot about how good Kiefer Ravena is (in his opinion). Of course, he may be biased, but what he said does not lack merit especially if he has played along side Ravena for a long time now and that he has played against Parks Jr. Being a good basketball player in his own right, I saw where he was coming from.

Ok. Meaty as it may be, the comparisons between the two hotshots must stop there because there has been too little of a sample to base discussions on. Rather, it should be reserved for another time in the future; some time in October when the UAAP Championship is up for grabs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

